Posted by: hksounds | November 30, 2015

Review – Kodo! + Climate March, 1129 HK

Review of fabulous Dadan, Kodo’s latest programme on Live Performance page

Climate March Hong Kong

Also, November 29, a day of worldwide action to send a strong message to the governmental officials who are meeting in Paris of the Climate Conference. The message from the people of the world, the ones who wish to save our planet’s biosphere, is that no more wasting time, no more compromises with fossil fuel burning and increased consumer consumption. The economy is not more important than life. This seems so obvious to me and yet so many just can’t seem to get it.

20151129_151203

Near the back of the march as it sets off from Central Ferry Pier 9 rather promptly.

At Bauhinia Square. These people understand. "There is no Planet B"

At Bauhinia Square. These people understand. “There is no Planet B”

 

From the TV news - Indonesia joins the march.

From the TV news – Indonesia joins the march.

And here is more coverage from HK’s TVB Pearl. If I plan to do more posts like this, I am going to have to get my TV fixed.

20151129_194555

20151129_194447

And several people were interviewed, here’s one because I know him and he is a fellow writer, with him is his son:

 The first thing we could do, I think, is go to electric vehicles"


The first thing we could do, I think, is go to electric vehicles”

(He tells me the anthology which includes both of our stories should be out in December!)

Organizations in attendance included Greenpeace and 350.org. There was also a contingent of vegans/vegetarians pointing out that meat production is a huge contributor to greenhouse gas omissions and urging people to cut down on their consumption of meat.

Could there have been more people? Yes. Should there have been? Yes. I’ve plenty to say about the lack of organization and publicity about this event and the failure to engage with the public along the route and even at the beginning and end points. Upon asking why such and such didn’t happen, I was told not enough people to help.

When I RSVP’s to the organizers, I indicated my interest and willingness to volunteer but I never heard back from anyone. So if there are interested people who are in need of assistance for such things, please let me know by leaving a comment.

Leave a Reply

Categories

